GP of Wallonia: victory for Mathieu Van der Poel ahead of Biniam Girmay

Mathieu Van der Poel wins the 62nd edition of the Grand Prix de Wallonie. The Dutchman won in the sprint and beat Biniam Girmay and Gonzalo Serrano. The former Dutch champion signs his seventh success of the season and is full of confidence a few days before the world championships.

Five men managed to take the right breakaway. We found the Norwegian Martin UrianstadFrench Maximilien Juillard and the Belgians Gianni Marchand, Abram Stockman and John Meens. They counted up to three minutes in advance.

In the peloton, the teams of Mathieu Van der Poel (Alpecin-Deceuncink), of Biniam Girmay (Intermaché-Wanty-Gobert) and Dylan Teuns (Israel-Premier Tech) take matters into their own hands and dictate the tempo while perfectly managing the control of the breakaway. As they approach the Ermeton-sur-Biert hill, the peloton picks up the pace and the gap with the breakaways quickly decreases to 15 seconds. Dries DeBondt places two attacks all countered but that proves the intentions of the Alpecin-Deceuninck formation. The nervousness is felt and everyone wants to be well placed before Ermeton. 48 km from the finish, Mathieu Van der Poel suffers a puncture and prefers to change bikes. Moments later, it’s the turn of Biniam Girmay to experience mechanical problems but the two riders returned without too much difficulty.

The peloton then temporizes and the gap increases again. The breakaways resumed 45 seconds and even almost 1 minute 30 ahead with just over 20 km from the finish. From then on, Alpecin-Deceuninck took matters into his own hands and Mathieu Van der Poel took up the lead. Approaching La Tienne aux Pierre, there are only four riders left in front: Meens, Marchand, Urianstad and Ewan Costiou who managed to get out of the peloton and join the lead. On the climb, the Arkea rider lets his freshness speak and lets go of the Norwegian to isolate himself alone in front. In the peloton, Lotto Soudal tries his luck with Sylvain Moniquet which produces a great effort and imposes a difficult tempo to follow for some. The hunt for Breton and he was finally taken back just before approaching the Route de la Merveilleuse. Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert and Girmay still have three team members at his side. Dylan Teuns tries his luck and takes a few meters ahead. But the last winner of the Flèche Wallonne stalled in the last corner. He was overtaken by Mathieu Van der Poel who won ahead of Girmay and Serrano. Dylan Teuns finally finished fourth, Jasper Philipsen takes sixth place and Jasper DeBuyst the nineth.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.