Vuelta: Molano wins the last stage, Evenepoel puts an end to 44 years of waiting and wins the general classification!

The last stage of the Vuelta was played in a sprint in the streets of Madrid. Juan Sebastian Molano was the fastest in this exercise. He beat Mads Pedersen and Pascal Ackermann. Remco Evenepoel avoided the last pitfalls and won the general classification, 44 years after Johan De Muynck, the last Belgian winner of a Grand Tour.

After three intense weeks in the race for the red jersey, the Vuelta riders took the time to enjoy the Spanish roads one last time during this last stage. With 97km between Las Rozas and Madrid with a 5.8km circuit in the streets of Madrid that the runners will cover ten times.

The first 50 kilometers are rolled at a more than leisurely pace by the peloton with in particular the Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl team taking advantage with a small flute of champagne at the back of the peloton. Rohan Dennis took the opportunity to spend a few kilometers in the lead before being caught by the peloton.

For the first passage on the line, Alejandro Valverde takes the lead on the peloton which lets him enjoy a crowd bath of the Spanish public who acclaims him.

In the intermediate sprint, Enric Mas goes first on the line. Luke Plapp and Julius Johansen continue their effort and take about twenty seconds ahead of the peloton. The two men make a good effort but are caught 1km from the line.

The victory will be decided in the sprint and in this little game, it’s John Sebastian Molano who is the strongest. The UAE sprinter is ahead of the green jersey Mads Pedersen and his teammate Pascal Ackerman.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.